Page Turn or Slide?

the-girly-geek-book-blog-the-great-debate-ebooks-vs-physical-l-26629c0ded2e04dc

Hi guys! Ready for a battle?

Today’s discussion is ebooks or books? Which one do you prefer?

Which one is cheaper?

ADR-DigitalReading2

Let’s face it. All the more readers turn to ebooks because of the price. Many books can be found for free, which is great, and all the rest are way more affordable than the real books. Also, you are only a click away from owning your favorite book and a few seconds away from reading it. Real books, especially hardbacks cost almost double the price of an ebook and even more, can take forever to reach their destination and the shipping cost most of the times is a nightmare.

ereaders-001.jpg

libraries-are-forever-972-640x4094123456.jpeg

Would you abandon print books?

Survey’s have shown that only 1 out of 10 people are willing to leave print books for ever. They usually read from both e-readers and print books. E-readers tend to read more books but, let’s admit it, nothing compares to the smell of a book or the feeling you have when you open it for the first time.

libraries-are-forever-972-640x40941.jpeg

What about the younger ages?

There is nothing better than curling up in bed with your child and having an illustrated book on your hands to flip through. That can’t be beaten by ebooks, no way! Plus, learning is easier when you read form a printed one, where you can keep notes. It is easier for a kid, that’s for sure.

libraries-are-forever-972-640x409412345.jpeg

Which is the More Eco-Friendly Choice?

Reading just got a lot more complicated. Back in the day, you had only one choice : print books. The dilemma was whether you’d buy a paperback or a hardback. Today, a reader can choose from a variety of devices to get his literary fix such as kindle, tablets, smartphones, laptops. The number of readers may getting bigger by the day and we may think the more the merrier but, if you’re as concerned with environmental conservation as you are with the accessibility to books, you might need to think twice about making a switch from paper to electronics.

ereaders-002.jpg

On one hand, we have ebooks that produce wastes, which are usually mined in underprivileged, war-torn countries and on the other, a big number of trees are harvested each year, which generates tremendous amounts of wastewater and creates a sizable carbon footprint… Don’t get me started on recycling. Both forms are recyclable, but no person who has spent money on a book is willing to give it up. So this battle, i think is won by the ebooks, because ones you are done with one device and you are ready for a new one, you can always recycle it without loosing your electronic library.

Which one then? 

libraries-are-forever-972-640x409412.jpeg

My opinion is that nothing beats a good book. Ereaders have theis pros, especially when it comes to eco-friendliness and cost, but I am an old-school gal. I like my books were I can see them. I like to smell the book as I open it and introduce myself, before I start reading. You may think I am crazy, but I become attached to my books. They are my companioship and I like to keep them after I’m done reading them. Sometimes I like to revisit them just to say hi. Overall, I don’t believe that reading a book should be a contest or a marathon run of who read the most. I like to select my book carefully, buy it, read it in my own sweet time and enjoy it. It is a hobby that should give us pleasure not be another reason to be anxious.

libraries-are-forever-972-640x40941234

 

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one. What is your choice?

12647769_10207518633697730_218784419_n (1)

 

 

 

44 thoughts on “Page Turn or Slide?

  1. sumaica says:

    I would never give up print books just because there is nothing better than having a book in your hands and than seeing it on your bookshelf.
    I hate to admit it but yes, ebooks have made life easier. I always have ebooks on my phone to read when I am stuck in traffic or doctor’s office. Both have their pros and cons.
    But if I am being forced to choose, it’s print books for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iridescence says:

    Living in a country where almost all the new and current books require shipping(which costs more than the book sometimes) can be a burden. I won’t pass up an opportunity to buy books when I can but otherwise I mostly use ebooks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookboxbykat says:

      hehehe Yes, true. When I saw it this morning after have posted mine, I was like: What? Same thinking seriously! Thank you for checking it out and for liking it. Really like your too. take care 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. irena_bookdustmagic says:

    In my opinion, print books are better. I can take notes wherever I want it the book + find it easier the on my nook.
    plus, I have to say that some books ( I noticed that in british chick-lit genre) are way cheaper in hardback and paperback then in ebook format.
    I also don’t believe that ebooks are better for environment.

    However, I do have my nook and use it pretty often to read arcs and purchased ebooks.
    Except that it has it’s own light and I can read from it in the dark, it is also easier to eat and cook with it in my hands.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookboxbykat says:

      hehehhe love the cooking and reading part! I can’t enjoy readind an ebook, not as mush as a printed one. But thank you for telling me your preference and for taking the time to read it. Take care 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. peculiarb says:

    To be honest, I prefer ebooks to physical books because they’re just so much more practical, but I would never give up physical books entirely. In fact, I have a lot of books in both formats because I loved the book so much I just had to have a physical copy of it (it looks better on bookshelves, let’s be honest).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. MyBookJacket says:

    Nothing beats a printed book. When I read an ebook i tend to give it one star. I just don’t even finish it at times! Physical books on the other hand are way better. Also MUCH cheaper in my country. The difference between an ebook and a physical book here is so less that it doesn’t even count. In the long run, with the cost of an ereader it is cheaper here to read a physical book than an ebook. I did like your post a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Olivia Ashryver says:

    I agree with you! I’ll always love print books. I’ve only ever read one e-book but I might start mixing more in with my print books. I just love the physical feel of books and turning pages and seeing books together on a shelf. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. SyedaFR says:

    A constant debate! Well, I prefer both. Printed books and ebooks have their own place I feel. But nothing beats the smell and feel of printed books while ebooks are the blessing when the books you want are way out of reach! Wonderful one!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Michelle says:

    I mostly read ebooks now. Just because it’s easier and because they are cheaper. But I could never truly leave print books, because they have a certain charm you just can’t find in ebooks.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Meher says:

    This is such a nice topic to debate on! This is what I call ‘a healthy discussion’!
    Anyways, I prefer printed books over e-books and kindles. The printed ones give me a different feeling. I like to feel the pages as I turn them (and I love their smell, too!). I even like to have a collection of my own where all the books are kept and whenever in future, I need them, I can just take a stroll of my collection. Also, you never know, what passing times bring, and what if in the future the books stop getting printed and it’s just the e-books we can read from. Yes, for those times, I would like to have the printed books that I know, will stay with me forever.
    Awesome topic! Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

