The One-Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed of the Window and Disappered Review

 

JJ_HundredYearOldMan_ArtImg

The One-Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed of the Window and Disappered by Jonas Jonassen

My rating: 1,5 bulbs

I just realized that I haven’t written anything bad about a book, not that it is necessary, but since I read a book and didn’t like it, shouldn’t I speak my mind? There goes nothing…

THE PLOT

It all starts on the one-hundredth birthday of Allan Karlsson. Sitting quietly in his room in an old people’s home, he is waiting for the party he-never-wanted-anyway to begin. The Mayor is going to be there. The press is going to be there. But, as it turns out, Allan is not… Slowly but surely Allan climbs out of his bedroom window, into the flowerbed (in his slippers) and makes his getaway. And so begins his picaresque and unlikely journey involving criminals, several murders, a suitcase full of cash, and incompetent police. As his escapades unfold, we learn something of Allan’s earlier life in which – remarkably – he helped to make the atom bomb, became friends with American presidents, Russian tyrants, and Chinese leaders, and was a participant behind the scenes in many key events of the twentieth century. Already a huge bestseller across Europe, The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared is a fun and feel-good book for all ages.

MY THOUGHTS

Judging by my rating, my thoughts on this book won’t be good. Not that I hate it, I just couldn’t bring my self around to finish it, hence the 1,5 bulb. To begin with, I picked that book up from my neighborhood’s bookstore because I found  the plot on the back of the book interesting and also, because it was a best-selling one. So, I thought, why not? Payed for it and went back home, excited to start reading it.

As I flipped through the pages, I started to not understand why I kept on reading. Ok, Allan, the 100-year-old-man, needed a break from his boring life at the retirement home and decided to climb out the window on the day of his 100-year-old birthday and he took off seeking for an andventure. As the story unfolded, I was witnessing a man making poor choices and wandering around with others that he met along his journey, like a lunatic,thus I couldn’t find anything funny or clever as to how he spent his days in “freedom”.

IMG_7994.jpg

I kept reading that this was a funny book mixed with historical finction, although, as I was reading I kept searching for the funny parts but I couldn’t find any plus, if you ask me, many of the historical points were terribly bland. It is black comedy, as I recently discovered, though I guessed it by the fact that I wasn’t laughing at anything as I read on, and I guess, us Greeks, don’t really appreciate black comedy. I can’t really get it, seriously, I just can’t.

Sure, Allan’s life was interesting but it seemed a little far-fetched, even for a fiction book. I couldn’t find a connection to Allan and didn’t feel involed in the story. I believe the author failed to deliver this killer-ass combination of fun and history, all blend in one book or at least it didn’t work for me so, I had to put down the book at page 233. Now, it is just a pretty addition to my shelf among the other books, however not a pretty story worth telling in my mind. Sorry….

Have you read this book or were you planning on reading it? I can’t recommend this to anyone, yet as you may know, many can read one book but noone really reads the same one. To each, a book means something different, and for that, my intention is not to discourage you, I only speak my mind.

I’d love to read your thoughts on the comments below. Till next time…

12647769_10207518633697730_218784419_n (1)

6 thoughts on “The One-Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed of the Window and Disappered Review

  1. Michelle says:

    I read this book back in December and absolutely loved it. But I think it has to be the type of humor you enjoy. It’s not either high-brow or raunchy humor. It’s very much dry, witty humor. The whole point is that it’s supposed to be ridiculously far-fetched. I wish I could encourage you to finish it, but to each her own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bookboxbykat says:

    As soon as I finish reading books that i am more interested in I probably will start it over. For now though, It ain’t gonna happen 😛 However I am glad you liked it 😀

    Like

  3. Naomi says:

    I couldn’t get into this book either. I don’t think I read past 50 pages. Most people seem to love it, so I don’t know what it was… (But at least I’m not alone anymore.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Read Diverse Books says:

    I HATE reading books I don’t like. Duh. It just makes me sad. 😦 I’ve gotten better about giving up on books that bore me or are just not my type because I deserve better!

    I’ll trust your judgment for now and NOT add this one to my TBR..though I do love a book with a cool cover and I like this one. Hah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

