Friday Movie Night

Brooklynlarge-e1446657131674.jpg

Brooklyn (2015)

Starrring: Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen, Domhnal Gleeson

THE PLOT

An Irish immigrant lands in 1950s Brooklyn, where she quickly falls into a romance with a local. When her past catches up with her, however, she must choose between two countries and the lives that exist within.

Brooklyn film_0.jpg

MY THOUGHTS

What I most liked about the movie was that I didn’t witness a great love story, but rather a real one. I cried for the most parts, especially when she felt homesick or confused. An Irish girl alone in New York managing to overcome her fears and and create a life for her in a city that is an ocean away from home. It was a pleasant movie and I think that the actress was great for the part. I loved her. Inspiring, yet heart-breaking the uprooting of a young woman in search of a better future. Watch this movie and find out if she made it or not…

I am aware that the story is based on a novel, that I haven’t read. Anyone having read it?

I’d love to read your thoughts on the comments below…

Till next time…

12647769_10207518633697730_218784419_n (1)

 

15 thoughts on “Friday Movie Night

  1. Sakina says:

    I loved this movie so much! The romance felt so real, almost as if I was experiencing it myself! I did have a few problems with the ending though – it kind of ended abruptly and I wasn’t expecting it. I don’t ever cry during movies, but this one definitely brought tears to my eyes, especially that scene where the Irish man is singing during the Christmas dinner.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Ashers! says:

      I agree with you about the ending.

      I wish the movie could’ve been another half hour longer at least (or maybe been made into a TV miniseries instead of a movie?); her return to Ireland and the development of her relationship with the Irish guy (whose name I can’t remember) felt really rushed, and therefore really unconvincing. I was really enjoying the movie up until that point, though.

      And oh yeah, the singing had me sniffling too. =)

      Liked by 2 people

      • Sakina says:

        Yeah that Irish guy ( I don’t remember his name either lol)! I felt like the only reason she decided to come back to Brooklyn was because she was afraid that that woman would tell everyone her secret. Also she kind of just left everyone without saying anything, and I just didn’t think that was something she would do.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Hey Ashers! says:

        Sakina, that’s it exactly! Her reason for returning to Brooklyn felt like shame or injured pride caused by the confrontation with that woman, rather than love for her husband. *Shakes fist.*

        Liked by 1 person

    • bookboxbykat says:

      That one was a very touching moment. And the moments where she cried because she felt so homesick… But i agree with you on the ending and actually I would love it to go on just a little bit more… But overall it was a nice movie to watch 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

